• Chocomousse taartje voor website

    Gelatin

    Gelatin (E441) is a translucent, colourless, brittle (when dry), flavourless solid substance, derived from collagen obtained from various animal by-products (mainly beef- and pigskins). It is commonly used as a gelling agent in food, it is found in most gummy candies as well as other products such as marshmallows, gelatin dessert, ice cream, dips and in some countries in yogurt.

Gelatin is usually standardized to a specific viscosity and/or gel strength (bloom strength). There are two main types of gelatin; A and B (produced by resp. acid treatment and alkali treatment). An important difference between the two types is the difference in Isoelectric point, which leads to different behaviour at specific pH values.

Gelatin is relatively insoluble in cold water but hydrates quickly in hot water. When added to cold water, gelatin granules swell into particles absorbing 5-10 times their weight in water. When the temperature is raised above 40-50º C the swollen gelatin particles dissolve, forming a solution which gels upon cooling. This gel is thermoreversible.

Acatris can provide gelatin from different animal sources, such as pig, beef (Halal/Kosher) and fish (Halal/Kosher), in various gel strengths and viscosities. Instant gelatin types are also available. For further info please contact our sales department.

More information about our food solutions?

Please contact our sales team:

t: +31 (0) 33 298 2034 (NL) or

t: +32 (0) 15 40 01 75 (B)